Cost

A cost is a mandatory payment for activating or using the effect of a card. Costs will always be paid immediately before activating a card or effect, and will never be refunded.

[edit] Costs in Problem-Solving Card Text

Costs will always come before a semicolon, with the effect following it, like so:

You can discard any number of cards to the Graveyard to target the same number of cards on the field; return those targets to the hand.
- Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier

[edit] Costs in Simplified Effect Text

Costs are generally noted by being worded like "to x you can y," with some exceptions. Standard wording is like so:

You can discard any number of cards to the Graveyard, to return the same number of cards from the field to the hand.
-Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier's older text

Related Threads

what's dc cost? - last post by @ Jul 14, 2007
cost - last post by @ Oct 1, 2003
Last edited by orez on 6 July 2012 at 17:51
This page has been accessed 845 times.